Are you surviving, or are you THRIVING?

If you haven’t read Jesus’ parable about the vine and the branches, I encourage you to do so today! I was so inspired by really thinking this through and comparing my life to it. What an amazing and mighty God we serve! I am so blessed! 



““I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.”

‭‭John‬ ‭15:1-8

Here’s my spin on the words:

The vine sustains the branches. It provides minerals, nutrients, and everything the branches need in order to not just survive – but to THRIVE. Because of the sustenance from the vine, the branches will flourish and bear fruit and seedlings. The fruit becomes larger as the vine continually provides for it, even through tough wind, water, and harsh weather. Inside the fruit, it in turn provides for the seedlings from the vines nourishment.

Now replace Jesus with vine, me with branches, and my family as seedlings. 

Jesus sustains me. He provides everything I need in order to thrive. Because of his sustenance, I will flourish and be blessed, including my family. My faith will grow, from Jesus’s continuous provisions, including all trials that life throws at me. Within me, because of Him, I will be able to provide for my family, so they may also thrive. 

How blessed are we?! Let that sink in for a moment… 

In this passage, Jesus also speaks about life and death. The branch needs the vine in order to survive. But if you stray from Jesus, you will fall from the vine, wither, and die. If we think about our faith, and our relationship with God, we must remain near at all times!

I once heard a saying where if you give sin an inch, it will take a foot. I have experienced this SO many times in my life. I am so thankful for a forgiving and loving Father! He always takes me back! He picks up my withering, dry, and brittle branch – and always fixes it back to the vine – my source of nourishment and sustenance. I always go back to Him, always. I don’t count on it, but I do count on Him being there with his mercy and grace – arms wide open. I know I could leave this life at any day, and as a branch I could easily burn away without Him!

I am working really hard at changing that. I don’t want to go back to my old ways. I feel like a new person, and my heart as changed. I’m thankful for a merciful and forgiving God, and I pray that I do not stray from Him again. 

In just a few months, He has become my sustenance in life. His blessing are abundant, more than they ever have been before. I pray that I continue to thrive, and not just survive. I am so thankful for his continual guidance in my life. I am also thankful for my relationship with Him. I pray that He remains in my heart forever, just as I in His. 

I hope that this post encourages someone out there reading this to keep pushing through!

As a side note, I picked up a book by Joel Olsteen called “I Declare” on Amazon after my Aunt had sent me excerpts over the past few weeks. It was delivered a few days ago, and I finally was able to sit down and read it today! I became so excited after I read the Introduction and Day 1’s declaration! More to come on those thoughts later…

Have a blessed week! Happy Monday!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑